Friends Card   |   Newsletter   |   Jobs

The Corinthian Club History

1752

The Corinthian Club stands on the site of The Virginia Mansion, which was constructed for prominent City Merchant George Buchanan, and was famed as being one of the finest private residences in Glasgow.

1842

The original building was demolished to make way for the Glasgow and Ship Bank, and later the Union Bank of Scotland. In this David Hamilton created one of the city’s most elaborate and richly decorated buildings, both internally and externally. It was extended and embellished over many decades by highly acclaimed architects, artists and artisans, including James Salmon (Snr), John Thomas and James Ballantine.

1920

Converted into justiciary courts, one of the UK’s fi nest Victorian interiors had many of it’s features hidden from public view behind false walls and ceilings.

1999

Painstakingly restored as The Corinthian. Details such as the Roman Doric pilastrade, elaborate cornicing, 26 foot glass dome, superb sculptural plasterwork and freestanding classical fi gures were revealed once more.

2010

After being extensively refurbished it opened it’s doors once again as ‘The Corinthian Club’, with the interior design and restoration being undertaken by internationally renowned design fi rm Graven Images.

PRESENT

The iconic Corinthian dome remains a focal point in Tellers Bar and Brasserie where a newly created stairway, once the route to the court cells, now leads to the relaxed Mash and Press Rooms. One of the many highlights, The Bootleg Bar is fashioned out of traditional bank safes and the fl oor is made up of a 500,000 piece mosaic which has been painstakingly hand-crafted to form the image of Queen Victoria as she appeared on old banknotes - a nod to the building's past life as the Union Bank of Scotland.